Croatia/ 3.4 International cultural co-operation  

3.4.5 Cross-border intercultural dialogue and co-operation

Much effort is being invested in support for cross-border co-operation projects, both by the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Science, Education and Sports. Initiatives are usually carried out by NGOs which apply for government funding. Co-operation programmes include joint education programmes, co-operation in promoting common heritage, student camps etc. The Regional Cooperation Council (RCC) was officially launched at the meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the South-East European Cooperation Process (SEECP) in Sofia, on 27 February 2008, as the successor to the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe. The RCC Secretariat is situated in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. The RCC Board decided on the establishment of the RCC Task Force on Culture and Society during 2010. The meeting held in Cetinje, Montenegro, on 22-25 June 2011 marks the formal establishment of the RCC Task Force on Culture and Society and the opening of the Task Force Secretariat in Cetinje (RCC TFCS). The main objective of the RCC TFCS for the period 2011-2014 is to coordinate activities at the regional level and monitor the implementation of the "Ljubljana Process II – Rehabilitating our Common Heritage", supported by the European Commission and the Council of Europe. RCC TFC organized a conference in Dubrovnik 27-28 October 2014 entitled ‘Cultural Heritage Rehabilitation as a Key to Sustainable Development’ during which Dubrovnik Declaration was adopted. The Declaration incorporates all the documents and initiatives and integrates European Union guidelines on cultural heritage usage and management.

For more information, see our Intercultural Dialogue section.

Chapter published: 04-05-2017