India/ 5.1 General legislation  

5.1.3 Allocation of public funds

The Ministry of Culture (MoC) has sole discretion, subject to audit and other restrictions, to disburse funds in the following areas:

Tangible Cultural Heritage: Funds for the Archaeological Survey of India, National Museum, National Gallery of Modern Art, and to all other museums (such as the the Indian Museum, Victoria Memorial Hall, the Salarjung Museum, etc.) and for all funds relating to capacity-building of museums. The MoC also solely supports the National Research Laboratory for Conservation of Cultural Property and the National Culture Fund.

Intangible Cultural Heritage: Under this category, the MoC funds the National School of Drama, Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts, Sahitya Akademi, Lalit Kala Akademi and Sangeet Natak Akademi. It also solely supports the Centre for Cultural Resources and Training, Kalakshetra Foundation and all Zonal Cultural Centres.

Knowledge Resource Heritage: Under this category, the MoC supports the National Archives of India, Anthropological Survey of India, Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, Asiatic Society, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Institute of Asian Studies, etc.

There have been no recent legal developments in this area.

Chapter published: 22-04-2014